First International Water Summit and announcement of the Zuckerberg Water Prize

The Zuckerberg Institute for Water Research (ZIWR) is pleased to announce the first International Water Summit and establishment of the Zuckerberg Water Prize during May 22–23, 2022, at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (BGU), Sde Boqer Campus, Israel.

This biannual Water Summit will assemble leading scholars from around the world in the broad field of water science and technology, and cover four main topics related to water security in a changing world – desalination, water treatment, hydrology, and aquatic microbiology. The summit will address applied and fundamental questions related to the nexus of water, humanity, and the environment. Discussions will be held on cutting-edge research, related challenges, and future directions as well as implications for policy makers. The summit will also include roundtable discussions with active participation from the audience. Researchers that would like to share their studies can submit an abstract for an exclusive poster session.

The Zuckerberg Water Prize (sum of USD 60,000) will be awarded for the first time during the Water Summit to acknowledge outstanding achievements and global impact of an individual or organization in the broader field of water. The biannual award is endorsed by ZIWR, a leading global institute conducting cutting-edge multidisciplinary research and advanced education in water sciences to improve human well-being and in drylands through technologies and policies for the sustainable use of water resources. ZIWR is accepting nominations for this award for the inaugural round of 2022, with a deadline of March 1, 2022. Among the members on the Prize Committee are Prof. Noam Weisbrod (Director, The Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research [BIDR], BGU, Israel), Prof. Menachem Elimelech (Yale University, USA), Prof. Janet Hering (Director, Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology [Eawag], Switzerland), Prof. Amit Gross (Director, ZIWR, BIDR, BGU, Israel), and Dr. Karen G. Villholth (Principal Researcher and Groundwater Coordinator, International Water Management Institute [IWMI], South Africa).


View details about and register for the International Water Summit

View details about the Zuckerberg Water Prize and submit a nominee

Submit an abstract for the poster presentation at the International Water Summit

Sign up for GRIPP news and updates

Sign up for the Call to Action on Global Groundwater Sustainability

Comments are closed.

  • GRIPP Partners